Team Squash October 20th 2013


A Team Squash competition was held on Sunday 20th October 2013 at the army barracks squash courts in Brompton.









36 Members gathered to play in a very enjoyable mornings squash with the winning team comprising Glen Appleby, Terence Wong, Mick Jones, Vince Mtika, John Davis and Jenny Hardinges beating Kenny Hyatt, Reuben Grice, Geoff Dingsdale, Tony Palmer, Hamish Sutherland and Danielle Smith in the final.

Chairman, Geoff Dingsdale, took he opportunity to present the winners with their medals.

He announced that, although the wording is to be finalised, the competition is to be renamed in memory of two previous Members who were key to the lady’s Kent league squash team in the 80’s and 90’s who have now passed away. Michelle Ford died in about 2005 and Linda Colwill in September of this year. The proposal is to rename the competition The Ford/Colwill Team Squash Competition in Memory of Michelle Ford and Linda Colwill.

Thanks to all the other Members who sacrificed their weekend lay in to come down and play. I hope that each and everyone of you enjoyed the morning.

Thanks also to Len Locke who’s careful consideration of the teams meant that they were very evenly matched leading to some very close games.

Thanks again to Danielle Smith who baked her now customary delicious home made cakes, sorry if you were only left with the crumbs but they always disappear extremely quickly.


Leave a Reply